Day 18 of April’s NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge!… ruba’i


Today’s challenge prompt asks us to “write a ruba’i. What’s that? Well, it’s a Persian form — multipe stanzas in the ruba’i form are a rubaiyat, as in The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam. Basically, a ruba’i is a four-line stanza, with a rhyme scheme of AABA.”

I dedicate my ruba’i to my love of orchids :D

“The Orchid”

purple phalaenopsis orchid

It’s beautiful in lovely shades,

in tropical and temperate glades.

Orchids are subtly sweet,

their beauty never fades.

 

On the mantle or the kitchen sink,

my pretty orchids seldom drink.

They beautify my cozy world.

Orchids are the best I think.

 

(Copyright 2014 chattinatti)

8 thoughts on “Day 18 of April’s NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge!… ruba’i

  1. I loooove this poem. You really nailed the ruba’i! Seriously, everything you write about is amazing. When I first came to your blog, I was meant to comment on your lovely orchid background, because along with Stargazer Lilies, Orchids were my wedding flowers and among my favorite. I have two plants at home. One hasn’t flowered for over a year :( , but the other is showing signs of blooming again within the next couple of weeks. Maybe I’ll read them this poem and it’ll bring them to life quicker! Wonderfully written!

    • Thanks! Yes I love my orchids!! I am a fan of Lilies too.
      I am waiting for new blooms as well…
      Lol, I hope they like the poem and bloom for you! :D
      Thank you for the kind comments!

Leave a Reply

