Trying something new…


Are you one of those people who say “I like what I like”? I am too and it’s actually quite true. However, liking what you like doesn’t mean you can’t like something new.

If you’ve never tried it, you won’t know if you might like it. šŸ™‚ This can apply to all sorts of things but a few days ago, I reminded myself of that thought when I visited a popular coffee spot in the city. I had some time in between two meetings and I decided to fortify myself against the cold and make up for skipping breakfast at the same time.

I scanned the menu (why do I do this when I almost ALWAYS choose the same item?) wondering “should I get the Cappuccino or try the Chai tea latte?” I almost fell back to my usual choice of a small Cappuccino when I remembered my hubby. šŸ™‚

Earlier in the week while running errands, we managed to grab a coffee while we were out and when placing our orders he said “you know…I think I’m going to try the Cappuccino this time, like you.” I was like :-O “No hot chocolate?!” He said “Nah, I think I’ll try something new.” I smiled.

That memory flashed in my head as soon as I was about to frame the words “One small cappuccino…” to the sales girl and I smiled and instead I heard myself saying “One small Chai Tea Latte and a Blueberry muffin please.”

coffee cup

While waiting for my order to be filled, I was actually thinking “Oh my gosh, I hope this tastes good. I hope I like it.” There is nothing worse than having your mind set for a particular thing and your taste buds start anticipating the yummy-ness only for it to fall exceedingly short of expectations.

While making up my mind to drink it no matter what, and scoping a seat with a view, my order was ready.

Of course I had to do my little rituals of wiping down the utensils (Don’t judge me!), laying my napkin just ‘so’, taking out my Kindle to have a read etc…(just killing time before tasting, lol). Everything set just right, I lifted the cup to my lips and took a sip! Oh-my-goshhhhhhh! Loveliness in a cup!

green tea

It was warm and spicy and felt like liquid sunshine in my tummy. I loved it.

I then had a good chuckle at myself for not wanting to “risk” trying a new beverage. I will definitely add it to my list of faves. I’m sure it will become one of my regulars…at least until I decide to try something new again. šŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Trying something new…

  1. Trying new things broaden our horizons. As you pointed out and further experienced you just might discover something else to add to the list of foods, music, hobbies etc fiercely protected under the “I like what I like” category of our lives. I’m the worse when it comes to trying something new — I like what I like, seriously. Thanks for sharing. Hopefully some will be inspired. I think I’m kinda stuck šŸ™‚

    • Lol Tara Ife! I’d say there are some things I just won’t try no matter how new but look at it this way, the more new things you try, the more you can add to your list of favourites. šŸ˜€

  2. When it comes to my breakfast..I have that same ‘I Iike what Iike attitude’. There’s just something about possibly starting the day off wrong with a bad taste in your mouth. For me I like change, but not when it comes to my breakfast.,..lol. I usually try something new, when what I want is not available. If I like it, I add it to the roster and will alternate. :-D.

Leave a Reply

