NaPoWriMo’s April Poetry Challenge…


This month, I’ll be writing a poem a day as part of the NaPoWriMo challenge. I did the early bird poetry prompt earlier today and then decided to try the challenge of writing a poem based on a phrase given to me by the Bibliomancy Oracle.

My phrase was: “If distorts nostalgia, and memory as well.” It’s an excerpt from “If We Never Meet Again This Side of Heaven” by Eric Pankey.

Here is my offering: “Dear Day dreamer…”

Day dreamer

Day dreamer

 

Accept your past experiences for what they were

and

for the lessons taught,

for

when the reminiscing begins

and in moments of reflections your mind is fraught

with suppositions and wistful desires…

you do your growth a disservice

if

in the past you dwell,

as

“if” distorts nostalgia,

and memory

as well.

 

(copyright 2014 by chattinatti)

 

 

8 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo’s April Poetry Challenge…

    • 🙂 Thank you!
      I’ve read your April 1st selection as well.
      Love your rhythm and the tone of your poem.
      I couldn’t see where to comment on it though but I loved it. 😀

  1. This poem flowed so smoothly, and each line allowed for great contemplation. This was a beautiful reminder not to sacrifice our present moments for fixations on the past. Wonderfully written!

    • Thank you artfullyadelie! I’m glad you got the meaning and thanks for the positive comments. 🙂
      I’m glad for this poetry challenge because I’ve been neglecting my poetry for a long time and I’m feeling inspired again! 🙂

      • Well I’m very glad you’re returning to poetry, as you’re very talented. I admire you because I’m completely incapable of painting a picture with such beautiful description and rhythm. So, please don’t stop! 😀

      • Awww! Well since you’re so nice about it all… 😀
        (Seriously though, thanks bunches!)
        I admire your story-telling skills. I wouldn’t even know where to venture into sci-fi. You’re a natural. I won’t stop if you won’t. 🙂
        Cheers!

Leave a Reply

