Day 4 NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge…Write a Lune.


Day four dawns and I head over to the NaPoWriMo site for my poetry challenge instructions…

“There are a couple of variants on the lune form, but just to keep things simple, let’s try the version developed by Jack Collum. His version of the lune involves a three-line stanza. The first line has three words. The second line has five, and the third line has three. “

My Lune is entitled: “If Only”

“If only she

had stayed home that day

I often say.”

 

(Copyright 2014 chattinatti)

Antiguan Sunset - Photo credit: Craig Grainas

Antiguan Sunset – Photo credit: Craig Grainas

 

Here are a few lunes from some fellow bloggers:

http://pookypoetry.wordpress.com/2014/04/04/depression/

http://adwellingbythesea.blogspot.co.uk/2014/04/a-lunethe-nurse-stump.html

http://ccchampagne.wordpress.com/2014/04/04/lunar-madness/

http://rooktopia.wordpress.com/2014/04/04/napowrimo-4-the-acrobat/

http://rhymenreview.wordpress.com/2014/04/04/busting-down-the-door-napowrimo-day-4/

 

11 thoughts on “Day 4 NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge…Write a Lune.

  1. What a beautiful example of the lune- which I had no idea what it was until I read this! So, this was both educational and entertaining. This poem is wonderful, and in so few words, you’ve painted such a powerful scene of despair and remorse. It truly made me sad, but the gorgeous sunset at the end lifted my spirits a little. πŸ™‚ Well done.

    • Thank you so much! I just learned what a Lune was today as well. I rather like the form. I may experiment with it some more, perhaps writing one with more stanzas. I’m happy you got the tone of the poem and that was the express purpose of the sunset image at the end! Cheers artfullyadelie! πŸ™‚

  2. Beautifully done.

    Consistent with my way of thinking, I am wondering what happened or was happening at home, why does she feel this way (in the poem) and what happened right after her expression. This is what good writing does – it provokes thinking.

    I think you should tell us more <—- that’s my little challenge to you to get you to write some more and as someone said, develop a story.

    I love your writing.

    And thanks for telling us what’s a Lune. I thought it was an incorrect spelling of (looney) Tunes…lol

    • Hey jay d!
      Glad you liked the poem and that it made you wonder what else? πŸ™‚
      I may just decide to develop a story line…who knows. πŸ˜‰

      Thank you so much! I must say these challenges are really challenging but also inspiring me to write more.
      Lol @ looney tunes! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

