NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 4… “A Golden Shovel” poem


I’ll admit today was the first time I’d ever heard of a poetry form called “A Golden Shovel” so I read my NaPoWriMo prompt closely to make sure I followed the rules.

Apparently, “this form was invented by Terrance Hayes in his poem, The Golden Shovel. The last word of each line of Hayes’ poem is a word from Gwendolyn Brooks’ poem We Real Cool. You can read Brooks’ poem by reading the last word of each line of Hayes’ poem!”

I chose one of the suggested poems to make my own Golden Shovel.

Here is the poem I chose to Golden Shovel😀

Watermelons

Green Buddhas
On the fruit stand.
We eat the smile
And spit out the teeth.

-Charles Simic

panda1

The Pandas

Laying on bamboos green

the pandas were benevolent Buddhas

blinking as we snapped on and on

with our cameras and phones focused on the

Pandas eating bamboo.

Pandas eating bamboo.

way they devoured bamboos like fruit

while they waddled or sat, not once did they stand.

I wondered if they thought that we

were weird for watching them eat

but then they dismissed us with the

politest of grunts, I had to smile

as they were through with our voyeurism and

with a trickle of bamboo spit

our reluctant hosts tuned us out

and I left them alone to watch the

delicate way they picked their teeth.

(Copyright 2014 chattinatti)

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 4… “A Golden Shovel” poem

  1. This poem was an absolute delight, and I love how you “Golden Shoveled” the Watermelons poem into something so unique and complex. Honestly, that seems like an extremely challenging task, and you did an amazing job. My smile grew with each line, and the accompanying photos were perfect. The panda just happens to be my absolute favorite animal. 😀 Every time I read your work I just love you more and more! Wonderful writing!

    • Thank you so very much adelie!! It really WAS challenging but I had the image in my head and just allowed the words to flow and land in their proper positioning. I am thoroughly “chuffed” (pleased) that you enjoyed it! I guess it’s a Mutual Admiration Society because I adore your work and your spirit as well. I am humbled and pleased! I look forward to reading more of your work as well. Thanks for the encouragement. 😀 ❤

Leave a Reply

