NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day Six: “Rare Sunny Sunday”


Today’s NaPoWriMo’s poetry prompt asked me to look outside my window, make note of all the nouns I saw and create a poem. 🙂

I’m calling this: “Rare Sunny Sunday”

It’s a

rare

sunny Sunday

in my neck of the woods.

The sky is blue and the sun

is making one of it’s rare appearances.

The church bell tolls

and the men and women file past my window

heading to the morning service.

Their cars take up all the spaces

forcing us to park across the street…

no complaining today though,

just a mild sigh.

It’s a rare

sunny Sunday

so spirits

are high.

(Copyright 2014 chattinatti)

Cars parked on street.

Cars parked on street.

Church Goers

Church Goers

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day Six: “Rare Sunny Sunday”

  1. I apologize fore taking so long to return to your beautiful poetry. I especially like the play on words with “sunny Sunday.” It just rolls off the tongue, and it sounds so happy! I love the flow of the poem, how it crescendos and then smoothly settles back down. Beautiful pictures as well. Being that my window faces a fence, my poem would be very dull compared to this. Great piece!

    • Thank you so much adelie! I always appreciate your kind and encouraging comments. ❤
      That picture was a stock photo…but I chose it out of all the others as it most closely resembled what I actually saw that day. Thank you again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

