NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 19! “The Vacation”


It’s the 19th day of the NaPoWriMo poetry challenge and I’m still here! Yay! šŸ˜€

It’s a Saturday and today’s challenge says: “There are some pretty wild names for sea shells. Today I challenge you to take a look at the list of actual sea shell names below, and to use one or more of them to write a poem.”

Peruvian Hat, Snout Otter Clam, Strawberry Top, Incised Moon, Sparse Dove, False Cup-and-Saucer,Leather Donax, Shuttlecock Volva, Striped Engina, Tricolor Niso, Triangular Nutmeg, Shoulderblade Sea Cat,Woody Canoebubble, Ghastly Miter, Heavy Bonnet,Tuberculate Emarginula, Lazarus Jewel Box,Unequal Bittersweet
Atlantic Turkey Wing.

I love learning new stuff so I’ve included the actual list of the seashells. Some are pretty funny and others are pretty weird! I’ve italicised the names of the shells I used in my poem.

Photo courtesy - Craig Gainas

Photo courtesy – Craig Grainas

 

“The Vacation”

The sun is hot and bright.

The water warm and clear.

I inhale the scent of the salty sea

while pelicans dive from the air.

 

I enjoy a day at the beach

reflecting on all that I am,

digging my toes in powdery softness

peering at a Snout Otter Clam.

 

As I laze on a blue and white deck chair,

I order a Scotch with no trouble.

I drape my arm over the side

and play with a Woody Canoebubble.

 

I stroll down the beach without sandals

a Shuttlecock Volva went flat.

The sun beat on my head like a drum

but I got no shade from my Peruvian Hat.

 

While the sun sank below the horizon

melting like a hot ball of wax,

I picked up sandy souvenirs:

Striped Angina and a Leather Donax.

 

As I reflect on that beach rendezvous,

on my desk sits a Ghastly Miter.

I think vacations are best for inspiration,

take it from me…I’m a writer!

 

(Copyright 2014 chattinatti)

Photo courtesy - Craig Grainas

Photo courtesy – Craig Grainas

 

Here are some other poems from this challenge by fellow bloggers:

http://colonialist.wordpress.com/2014/04/19/really-awfully-seasick-seashells/

http://ccchampagne.wordpress.com/2014/04/19/girl-of-the-lazarus-jewel-box/

http://voicelessfricative.wordpress.com/2014/04/19/the-soldier-in-a-bobble-hat/

http://marilyncavicchiaeditorpoet.wordpress.com/2014/04/19/unequal-bittersweet/

10 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 19! “The Vacation”

  1. This is gives a tranquil vibe. My imagination took me home to “runaway”. Nice work meeting the challenge expectation.

  2. I’m super impressed that you were able to work all of those odd seashells into your poem. Reading that was almost as good as a real vacation…though I don’t look any tanner! As I read through the list at the beginning, I was secretly praying you’d use the Woody Canoebubble- and you did so, without any trouble! šŸ˜€ Mighty fine work, Natti! Made my day!

    • Those names made me laugh outright! Some really weird ones in the mix too. I tried my best. Glad I was able to bring some humour and enjoyment with my poem!
      Thank you! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

