Day 25 NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge…My Anaphora


Today’s poetry challenge prompt is to write an Anaphora. An “Anaphora is a literary term for the practice of repeating certain words or phrases at the beginning of multiple clauses or, in the case of a poem, multiple lines.”

 

“Can You Hear Me?”

Can you hear me

whispering through prose and verses…

pouring my thoughts through lines

like coins out of purses?

Can you hear me

silently screaming?

“This is who I am!”

I live my life dreaming.

Can you hear me

whispering the words from my heart:

words of love and of passion

whether near or apart?

Can you hear me

through the doors I mentally slam?

Can you hear me…

not just my words but all that I am?

(Copyright 2014 chattinatti)

 

Courtesy Craig Grainas

6 thoughts on “Day 25 NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge…My Anaphora

  1. Nice emphasis at the end.
    Just had a thought about the purse image, though, whether it would perhaps work better with something like:
    ‘pouring out my spendthrift thoughts
    like coins …etc’

  2. I can sense the deep contemplation behind this poem. Sure, your words are read and your story is told, but does your audience look further than the lines to understand how your essence is expressed within the lyrics? Very visual and had a smooth, intriguing rhythm to it. Wonderful work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

