My Curtal Sonnet- NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 26


It’s day 26 of this April poetry challenge and we’re being asked to write a Curtal Sonnet. This is the first time I’ve heard of this. Apparently, “the curtal sonnet is shorter than the normal, fourteen line sonnet. Instead it has a first stanza of six lines, followed by a second stanza of four, and then closes with a half-line. The form was invented in the 1800s by Gerard Manley Hopkins, who used it in his famous poem “Pied Beauty”. ”

“Fly Away Heart”

Courtesy: Google Images

Courtesy: Google Images

Like an eagle flying high

my heart did soar

setting my feelings free.

Like the sun in the morning sky:

shining brightly ever more,

as how it’s meant to be.

 

My heart gently came to rest

after it’s solo flight:

nestled in my lover’s chest

safely out of sight.

 

In its nest.

 

(Copyright 2014 chattinatti)

Courtesy: Google Images

Courtesy: Google Images

8 thoughts on “My Curtal Sonnet- NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 26

  1. Lovely images and images!
    I think, to get the mandatory half-line, you’d need to drop ‘securely’ at the end, to leave ‘In its nest.’
    (P.S. Btw -“it’s” can only mean “it is”. “Its” is already a possessive, like “his”.).

  2. Wow. I’ve never heard of a Curtal Sonnet before. The structure is very unique, and you nailed it! You bring a greater depth to the expression of a soaring heart. I also love the relationship as the lover’s chest as a safe nest! Your creative genius always stuns me and inspires me to look at the world in a different way. Well done, Natti!

    • Neither did I before then. I’ve learned a lot from this challenge! Thank you for thinking so! I was hopeful I came close enough! 🙂 Aww thank you for the kind words, I always appreciate your comments!

Leave a Reply

