Day 27 of NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge…”Country Road”


April is drawing to a close and I’ve been faithfully attempting the daily NaPoWriMo Poetry challenge.

The challenge prompt for the 27th day is to write a poem based off of a photograph.

I chose a photo posted to my Face Book page and taken by a friend. It is a picture of a country road in Antigua. I saw the photo and it spoke to my spirit. πŸ™‚

“Country Road”

There is nothing like a lovely stroll

down a quiet country road.

The dappled light creating dancing shadows:

adding a bit of whimsy to your journey.

The quiet beauty of country lanes

is sometimes overlooked in the harried pace

of the five ‘o clock traveler.

For me, there’s nothing like the subdued crunch

of fallen leaves made moist by the earth

and the sound of bird song warbled and curious at my presence.

Trees on either side of the dusty road

lean over and up stretching their limbs like outstretched arms

with fingertips gently meeting.

They provide me with a canopy

saluting my progress like the glinting swords

of a marine wedding march.

For me,

there’s nothing like a lovely stroll down a quiet

country

road.

(Copyright 2014 chattinatti)

Courtesy: Lenroy Browne

Courtesy: Lenroy Browne

4 thoughts on “Day 27 of NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge…”Country Road”

  1. You bring the truth to light that we all need to take the time to enjoy the walk, whether it be a down beautiful country road in Antigua or a walk down the bustling street to work. I love how much life you brought to the natural surroundings, especially the leaning trees, stretching out their fingers and saluting your progress! I felt like I was walking down the road with you! Beautiful work!

  2. Thank you Adelie! I appreciate it. Yes sometimes in our daily hustle and bustle we do over look the simple pleasures of our surroundings…and it’s a pity because more often than not they really improve the mood and one’s appreciation for nature. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

