My Writing Process Blog Tour…


Courtesy: Google Images

Courtesy: Google Images

So one of my wonderful blogger friends: Adelie of Artfully Aspiring invited me to be a part of this Writing Process Blog Tour last weekend. I was flattered to think that she chose me and my humble blog, then right after that I was slightly panicked as the past two weeks have been busy x 10 to the tenth power! πŸ˜€

First of all I was ill for a couple of weeks, resulting in a trip to the Emergency room last week (I’m better now) and then work has been brutal and I’ve just been mentally and physically tapped out when I get home in the evenings.

I have so many blog posts to catch up on and lots of writing to do…anyone knows how to add an extra hour in the day? lol πŸ™‚ But…I digress, I of course said yes to Adelie and I’m adding my bit to this leg of the tour! Whoo hoo party like a Blog Star! LOL!

Before I answer the questions which are a part of this Tour, I’d like to recommend to my readers that you take a virtual jaunt over toΒ http://artfullyaspiring.wordpress.com/ Β  and give Adelie’s blog a read. She is a very talentedΒ  writer. Her short stories on “Friday Fictioneers” are not to be missed; suspense, drama, thrills and chills are to be had with a sprinkle of romance to round out your literary appetite. Her poetry also evokes deep emotion and she writes with a voice that is believable, lyrical and engaging. Stop by and say hello, you won’t regret it! πŸ™‚

a) What are you working on?

Well this blog is actually a part of “what I’m working on”. I started it on my birthday in January of this year after many years of procrastination. It has been a great catalyst in getting me to write regularly and to express my creativity. It took me forever to work up the nerve to share my writing with a wide audience. πŸ™‚

At the moment, I’m working on 2 books which are a part of a children’s book series I had an idea for since 2013.

I started writing the first two in the series simultaneously and hope to get them completed by late summer to early autumn. I’m also working on my first novel and a book of poetry to be published. Actually, the poetry is already written and have been for years I’m just in the process of getting them from the many notebooks into files and properly categorized.

I hope to have at least one book of poetry ready for publication before the end of they year.

b) How does your work differ from others in its genre?

Honestly, I don’t do comparisons when I’m writing. My blog is primarily a place where I write about things I observe, thoughts that I have and my space for being creative with poetry or prose or however else my literary expressions decide to birth themselves.

The children’s books and the novel that I’m currently working on…I guess I will have to wait for their completion and then see if I can return to this question with a different/definitive answer. πŸ™‚

c) Why do you write what you do?

Sometimes I write about things that amuse/entertain me and I feel the need to share with others and perhaps entertain them in the process. Then, there are times when I write simply because I must. I have no choice. I find myself reaching for my pen and a notebook and I’m in the zone. I am inspired by anything and everything and if there were 25 hours in the day (and I had no need to be gainfully employed) I’d sit and write all day long.

I write because there is always some idea or thought inside me trying to come out. I want to share my perspective or make someone view things differently. I love to explore the different ways to convey thoughts, imagery and ideas. I write to share of myself and to hopefully entertain, amuse, inspire and to relate with my readers.

I write to live and I live to write! πŸ˜€

d) How does your writing process work?

I don’t know if I have a set process. I usually get inspiration at any point at time…I keep a note pad beside my bed for such purposes. Many times I get ideas for poems or stories just as I’m falling asleep or after I’ve fallen asleep and I’ll grope for my pen and scribble by the light of my mobile phone screen.

Other times I will be doing something totally random and hear or see something and say “Oh! I need to jot that down and write about that later.” Sometimes I think “that will make a good title for a poem or story”. Many times I forget but usually that same thought will come back to me as much as a year later and I’ll write it down. I have poems I started writing years ago and left unfinished…only to come back and finally finish them.

What I will say though, I find it easier to write first and then type…as much as I love technology and I do possess quite a few gadgets…I STILL love buying nice pens and pretty notebooks for “My Writings”.

e)Β  Say who is on next week: (3 fellow bloggers)

** I’ve chosen my 3 fellow bloggers and I’m waiting for them to get back to me. I will post their bios and info on a follow up post to this one.**

Thanks for reading and see you on Part II of my Writing Process Blog Tour! πŸ™‚

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “My Writing Process Blog Tour…

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. Ill make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return. acegabebcckk

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt
    donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed
    to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this
    blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

