Holiday Mode is officially over…


So, I’ve been m.i.a. for quite a little while now. Life has been quite hectic and luckily for me I had a chance to leave the U.K. for a (much too brief) mini-holiday to Florida for a family get-together.

Jet-setting

Jet-setting

To say I had a great time would be putting it mildly. I celebrated my 1st anniversary with hubby and then began the journey the very next morning. I flew from Dublin to London, then took the 8.5 hour trip from London to Charlotte N.C., then flew for another 2 hours or so to Tampa. (My entire journey from home to Tampa took almost 13 hours!) Note to self do not imbibe lots of liquid when you’re seated in the middle seat and a few rows from the Lavs! :O

I’m sure the nice old lady to my left was ready to switch seats with me if only her husband wasn’t seated across the aisle from her. They reached across and chit-chatted and shared their dinners (more like he kept taking the bits she didn’t eat)…they were too cute. πŸ˜€

Anyhoo…I watched so many movies on that flight it’s ri-donk-u-lous! I have a hard time sleeping on flights, especiallyΒ long ones and if I’m not seated by a window, I’m even more conscious and alert. I won’t bother to explain my flying neuroses right now, so I’ll just say…no way, no how was I going to be sleeping.

I happen to love traveling, I really do…but I’m not overly fond of having my hair patted down, or of certain other immigration practices. I know and appreciate why they’re done of course…but it’s usually the part of my journeys that I dislike the most. I’m sure many people can agree.

Taking off your shoes 3 or 4 times while within the same airport can be a bit tedious, especially if you decide to wear boots -_- lol! Then, you have to separate things in your hand bag or carry-on into little zip-lock baggies, dump out your laptop, tablet, Kindle….arghhhh! (Sorry flashback!)

So yeah, it was great to finally get to my destination and see some of my family that I had not seen (physically) for about 7 years and to meet family members for the first time that I’d only heard about.

My laptop decided after about 6 days that she was going into vacation-mode as well and I couldn’t get the wireless connection to turn back on! Luckily I had my Kindle so I could get my internet-fix.

My laptop was actually still in vacation-mode until a few days ago when hubby decided he wasn’t going to stop Googling until he figured out how to fix the problem. Which he did…as usual. πŸ˜‰ (thanks babe)

So now I’m up and running!! Took a little while for the jet-lag to wear off, as I literally was back out to work the next morning after I returned. By the way getting over a 5 hour time difference will play games with your mind! πŸ™‚

Well, holiday #1 for the year was awesome! I got sun burn, experienced a thunderstorm of frightening proportions while at Lego Land’s Water Park (where I went on a roller coaster ride for the first time in almost 15 years! Yay me!) I developed an allergic reaction to a lobster dish (we think) that had me in a red rash for days. Will that stop me from eating lobster again? I doubt it! πŸ˜€

LegoLand Florida

Rollercoaster

Now, I have a lot of blogging and catching up to do with reading some of my other Blog friends’ posts and making lots of new ones here as well!

I missed y’all. It’s good to be back! πŸ™‚

CN ❀

 

8 thoughts on “Holiday Mode is officially over…

  1. Hey Nati! Welcome back to the UK! I’m happy you had a great holiday, well deserved I’m sure. I know how good it feels to be with family you haven’t seen for ages and of course meeting others for the first time is always a bonus. πŸ™‚

    • Hey @18chelseamews! Thank you, I had a wonderful holiday for sure! Yes it was great to connect and re-connect. Hope you’re enjoying the sunny weather over there in London! Are you watching Wimbledon? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

