Keyboard Commandos, Sniper Trolls


This post was a long time coming and in fact has been sitting in my “Drafts” folder since June but it’s arrival was sped up considerably over the past few weeks when I ventured into one too many (?) articles posted on social media.

The articles came from far and wide and broached topics from the mundane to the insipid, from the ridiculous to the sublime. While I prefer my social media article intake to educate or inform me…sometimes I do like to be entertained as well. However, what passes for entertainment for some, is not always everyone’s cup of tea.

Internet Arguing

I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve begun to get in the habit of going straight to the comment section of some articles after reading the headline. I then play a guessing game with myself and try to ascertain what it was that was actually stated in the article by the type of replies posted. I do this with frivolous topics though. I read the full article for news reports and the like.

I’ve been appalled, inspired, entertained but mostly gob-smacked by the things some people post under the guise of “opinion” or “free speech” on the internet!

Troll

Troll

I guess for some the ability to be (relatively) anonymous behind an avatar or computer screen gives them extra steel in their spine to say horrible and negative things to people they’ve never met or know anything about. There are even people who create fake profiles to troll or to put forward views they are uncomfortable being identified with in their real persona.

These keyboard commandos and sniper trolls generally contribute zero percent to constructive debate on social media. It rather seems that they strive to create mayhem and divert attention from the topic at hand. However, it appears their primary purpose is to make statements which incite anger, rage and disgust.

Keyboard Commando

 

 

 

 

Social media and the internet can be great tools for positive things and likewise can really be a nightmare to navigate with your sanity in tact!

There is so much more to say on this topic…so I’ll leave that for part two. πŸ˜‰

Have you come across any trolls or witnessed any commandos in action? LOL!

Holla back! ❀ CN

4 thoughts on “Keyboard Commandos, Sniper Trolls

  1. Lmao @ Keyboard commando. Too funny!! But I am all to familiar with this assign persona you referenced. I’m often checking reviews to garner feedback for most things concerning my son… From the smallest to the greatest and oddly the commando often makes his/her presence be known… I mean why would one need a spine of steel to post a comment to or review something that’s kid or family related??? All that to say, I agree that the key board a$$hole serves little to no purpose and often whips out the key board to try to make others feel just as inadequate as he/she does. He/she otherwise does no fit into society very well or is a social misfit. He/she has mush for brains and cooked noodles for a backbone. Im not a fan of th KC…. I’m just saying….

  2. Good post. It’s such a shame because the Internet gives unrivalled opportunities for extending healthy debate and discussion. But most of the time I don’t get involved – it eats up time and rarely seems achieve very much. If I do contribute I try to follow two simple rules: (1) engage the substance of what someone says and not get personal, and (2) ask myself, would I say this to their face? Often though there’s not much of substance to engage with, so it’s really not worth it. That said, there are a lot of people who do try to remain positive and polite and make some interesting and worthwhile contributions. Sadly there are also a lot who don’t, and they tend to make the most noise.

    • Hi Christopher! Thanks for reading and taking the time to reply. πŸ™‚
      You are so right, there are lots of opportunities for healthy debate online. I give my input sometimes but it does get very frustrating when the thread gets degraded by trolls. I like your posting rules as well; if only everyone would implement them! πŸ™‚
      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

