NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 2…Family Portrait


Day 2: NaPoWriMo poetry writing challenge- The Prompt: “Today, I challenge you to write a poem that takes the form of a family portrait. You could write, for example, a stanza for each member of your family. You could also find an actual snapshot of your family and write a poem about it, spending a little bit of time on each person in the picture. You don’t need to observe any particular form or meter.”

I have quite an extended family and no portraits with everyone in it (must work to change that somehow…reunion?) 🙂 What I’ve decided to do instead was to use a picture of my darling nephews who I have not seen since December, 2011 as my inspiration. As I’m an aunt who lives in a totally different country, I miss them dearly and wish I could watch them growing up. It’s time for a visit! ❤

Ethan & Evan -

              Evan & Ethan

Ethan and Evan

Ethan…my “Cookie”

The first to steal my heart with your smiles and laughter.

I first met you when you were mere months

and I was there until you turned five.

You brought me so much joy and laughter daily.

I watched your personality grow and your character develop.

Baseball, soccer, hockey, fishing…you do it all.

Now, you’re doing track and running laps around your parents I’m sure.

Intelligent, helpful and generous you’re quite an awesome boy!

I’ll not tell your mom of the times you almost gave me heart attacks when I baby sat for you

and you would insist on doing headstands and demand that I count!

I’ve never counted to ten so fast in my life.

Your acrobatic feats on the furniture may be the cause of my strengthened faith in prayer and physics.

I love you, don’t ever change Cookie!

 

Evan…my “Pumpkin”

I was there when you were born and held you “fresh out the oven”

what a joy and wonder you were and are.

Four years younger than your brother…

just like your Auntie and mum!

You were born in my birth month too; I was glad of that. 😉

From the early days it was quick to see that you are your mother’s child!

Your independent nature was evident from the onset.

You caused me just as many anxious moments as Ethan.

I thought your brother had energy but you are a whirlwind!

You’re brave and take no smack! Lol!

I watched you make sure that your big brother didn’t try to overpower you

and I laughed to myself… (memories).

You are humorous, sweet, energetic and smart as a whip.

I cherish all of your early memories and look forward to creating new ones.

I love you Pumpkin, just as you are! ❤

 

❤ CN

napo2016button2glopo2016button2

Leave a Reply

