NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 3: “A Fan Letter”


The Prompt: “Today, let’s turn our vision outward, and write fan letters. I challenge you to write a poem in the form of a fan letter to a celebrity. Now, this could be a celebrity from long ago, and needn’t be an actor or singer (though it could be).”

I’m not a big celebrity chaser…in fact, I’m not even a little one. There are some artistes I do admire and of the ones who are no longer with us Bob Marley ranks pretty much at the top.

Bob Marley2

 

Bob…did you know

Your music takes me to a soulful place;

it fills me with varying emotions.

From mellow vibes to activism;

jamming in a crowded club

or chilling in my own space.

One Love is quite possibly

your most well-known song,

It’s known by just about all nationalities.

I have many faves; it’s really hard to choose

But Ride Natty Ride is my

motivator when I need to push along.

Turn Your Lights Down Low

reminds me to tune out the world

and tune in to my loved one…

an apt message for busy lives.

And Redemption Song

reminds me to keep holding on.

Bob,

I could keep on going

but suffice it to say even though you’ve left

us so very long ago,

your presence remains as strong as your influence

what an impact you’ve had on many lives;

I just wanted you to know.

 

Bob Marley1

❤ CNnapo2016button2

glopo2016button2

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

