NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 4: “The Cruelest Month”…


NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 4- Prompt:

” In his poem “The Waste Land,” T.S. Eliot famously declared that “April is the cruelest month.” But is it? I’d have thought February. Today I challenge you to write a poem in which you explore what you think is the cruelest month, and why.”

“June 3rd, 1984”

June 3rd, nineteen eighty-four;

when life as I knew it

would be no more.

In forty-five seconds

a squall so steep,                                                   Marques

swept the Marques into the ocean’s deep.

In under a minute

a crew of twenty-eight

were struck by the terror

of a watery fate.

Most were asleep when the freak wave struck

nine were saved

The others…no such luck.

My mum, step dad and year-old brother

in the captain’s cabin slept,

My sister and I

at home…heard the news and wept.

In one freak accident

a family of five…lost three

so, June

has always been a cruel month for me.

That is, until June 4th twenty, thirteen

On a sunny day, my love I wed

It was a pretty scene.

We’d changed a time that caused such gloom

To one of love so right.

I no longer detest the month of June

we honour their memory with candle light.

 

© Chattinatti 2016.

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 4: “The Cruelest Month”…

  1. Pingback: The Cruelest Month – SimplyNatural1

Leave a Reply

