NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 5:


Today’s prompt: “Today, I challenge you to spend some time looking at the names of heirloom plants, and write a poem that takes its inspiration from, or incorporates the name of, one or more of these garden rarities. To help you out, here are links to the Southern Exposure Seed Exchange and the Baker Creek Seed Company. Also, here’s a hint – tomatoes seem to be prime territory for elaborate names. And who knows, maybe you’ll even find something to plant in your garden! Happy writing!”

As I love tomatoes, I opted to write a poem on a variety of tomato called “Break-O-Day”.

Tomato-Break-o-day

“Break-O-Day”

It’s springtime now

and the weather’s fine,

I’m prepping my garden

For my tomato vine.

Last year’s crop

was just “okay”

This time I’m planting some

Break-O-Day.

Big and juicy

they’re round and red;

I’m dreaming of Bruschetta perched

on pita bread.

So, I’ll plant my seeds

and while the vines creep

I’ll sit and wait

for the time to reap!

 

© Chattinatti 2016

napo2016button2

glopo2016button2

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 5:

Leave a Reply

