NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 18: The Sounds of My Childhood


The Sounds of My Childhood

 

Night sky

I remember nights

still and balmy

when I’d be getting ready for bed;

I’d tell my mom

“I’m not sleepy,

I’d rather listen to the stars twinkling instead.”

 

Gingerbread House 2

I never realised the “twinkling”

wasn’t a sound

made by the stars at all;

but was rather the chirping

of crickets

playing a night symphony for us all.

 

Croaking_Ground-dove_DMB

The sounds of my childhood

include the Ground Dove

that cooed again and again;

“Moses speaks God’s word”

it warbled and ended with

“Father God send rain.”

 

Rain-in-St-Johns-Antigua-Caribbean-Cruise

I loved the sound of the raindrops

as they pummeled

the corrugated zinc;

like a Tenor pan

playing sweet melodies,

it was more therapeutic

than you’d think.

 

Galleon Beach Antigua.jpg

I remember the sounds of the sea

rushing up

to foam at the shore;

the waves crashing against the rocks

is a sound I don’t hear much anymore.

 

Antigua StJohns ShoppingStreet 01

I miss the sounds of my people

The accents

So mellowed an sweet

Whenever I visit my homeland

I relish

The sounds of the street.

 

© Chattinatti 2016

❤ CN

napo2016button2glopo2016button2

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 18: The Sounds of My Childhood

Leave a Reply

