NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 21: The Pea


NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 21:

The prompt: Today I challenge you to write a poem in the voice of a minor character from a fairy tale or myth. Instead of writing from the point of view of Cinderella, write from the point of view of the mouse who got turned into a coachman. Instead of writing from the point of view of Orpheus or Eurydice, write from the point of view of one of the shades in Hades who watched Eurydice leave and then come back. Happy writing!

Pea

“The Pea”

Once upon a time

I had the worst night ever.

I was plucked from my pod

and someone thought it was clever

to smother me

beneath mattresses a-plenty,

it was hot, dark and frightening

under the bedding of twenty!

I thought that was bad

until a princess laid on top

my lovely round body

would most certainly pop!

I could not sleep

although I was tired

I prayed would arrive

before I expired.

Upon waking next day

I heard the princess complain

that her bed was not comfy

I thought: “well imagine my pain!”

She was sorely bruised

all with skin black and blue

I thought: “get over it princess!

I’m battered too!

 

© Chattinatti 2016

napo2016button2glopo2016button2

Leave a Reply

