NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge Day 29: Wood Oven Bread


Note: NaPoWriMo Poetry Challenge officially ended April 30th but I was ill for almost 2 weeks and was not feeling creative. I saved the prompts and will be posting my poems simply because I like to finish what I start.

(If you still read them, I’m most appreciative!)

The prompt: “Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem based on things you remember. Try to focus on specific details, and don’t worry about whether the memories are of important events, or are connected to each other. You could start by adopting Brainard’s uniform habit of starting every line with “I remember,” and then you could either cut out all the instances of “I remember,” or leave them all in, or leave just a few in. At any rate, hopefully you’ll wind up with a poem that is heavy on concrete detail, and which uses that detail as its connective tissue. “

Wood Oven Bread

Wood Oven Bread

I remember the smell of the wood-oven,

the wafts of smoke emanating from the chimney in the back.

The piles of “Cassi” wood stacked to the side of the building;

waiting their turn to be tossed into the fiery furnace.

I remember the smell and sights of a local “Bread Shop”.

 

I remember early Saturday and Sunday morning treks;

trying to beat the long queue patiently waiting for the baked goodness.

The yell of the sales person; “Wha yuh want wid ya bread?”

Me shouting: “One five dollah bread, butter and cheese!”

I remember the feeling of heaven biting into the hot bread.

 

I remember melted butter seeping through brown paper

and the crumbs spilling with every bite of the golden crust.

There is nothing like the smell and taste of wood oven bread

and Antiguan bakeries are known for this treasure.

I remember and imagine I’m savouring that golden goodness.

 

© Chattinatti 2016

napo2016button2glopo2016button2

 

Leave a Reply

