You Know You’ve Matured When…


I’ve always been a person who purchases planners, diaries and journals. I have corporate ones and personal ones. Up until a few years ago, I never bothered to fill out the address page or the Emergency contacts section.

About three years ago, I made a conscientious effort to fill out more than my name. I began adding an email address and my landline/work phone.

You know, you can’t just put ALL your information in there JUST in case you DO actually lose your planner and some psycho finds it; you can’t have them turning up to your home. If they turn up at work…meh! But home? No!

Lately however, I had another look at my journals and planners and actually completed all the relevant information. It might have something to do with the fact that within the space of three days, there were two sudden illnesses in the immediate family; (everyone’s fine now, thank goodness) and it made me think that if an accident was to happen to myself or a loved one (God forbid) or someone needed emergency assistance, I wouldn’t want anything to take more time than needed in order to alert a family member.

There’s nothing like age cough cough I mean maturity to bring things into focus for you and let you know what is really important.

What about you? Do you have a list of Emergency contacts?

Leave a Reply

