Irrational fears, quirks…OCD?


Before I even get right into this post, I already know that there will be a few more posts such as these in the future as I must admit to having a few of the above mentioned. πŸ™‚

Today though, I’m going to attempt to bring my intense dislike (I have convinced myself that that is a much better and more positive term than fear) for wet food into the open. When I say wet food, I’m not referring to soup, cereal or gravy-smothered carbs. πŸ˜€ rather I’m referring to the bits of food that were not scraped off of plates and made their way into the kitchen sink.

If I’m doing the dishes and my hand inadvertently connects with a bit of food matter, I cannot describe the feeling which engulfs me…but this pretty much sums it up.

horrified-expressionIt is something that has always grossed me out…even as a kid. The worst offender then was a bit of bread. If there was a bit of toast that had fallen into the sink and I saw it. O-M-Ggggggg!!! That swollen, soggy piece of flour could reduce me to goose bumps and disgust.

I’ve spent many, many years trying to cure myself of this irrational fear of wet food. I wish I could say I’m “cured” now lol but I’ve made strides. Serious strides. I must say that pride is a major factor in me working to overcome this distaste for something even I think is pretty silly. πŸ™‚ I simply can’t understand it and have no clue where this comes from. I often laugh at myself…as much as my friends and family do when they encounter my mini-freak-outs over this.

Mostly I’ve been using mind-over-matter techniques and talking myself through these occurrences. I must say, it does help when I decide to use gloves to remove things. Not totally helps but significantly helps. πŸ˜€

I tell myself “it’s just a piece of food”, “surely you can’t be afraid to touch a bit of vegetable!” etc etc.Β Then I grab it really quickly and toss it into the bin before I get completely grossed out. I find that mentally talking myself down from mini-freak-out state, helps.

I’m pleased with the progress I’ve made but still working on it.Β I think I’m probably at a level 6 leaning towards 7 if level 10 is my point of no more freaking out. I have not yet mastered wet bread as hubby makes sure none falls into the sink and I have not yet had to face that mega-monster…LOL! But I’ll work my way up to that….eventually.

look of terror

My name is Chatti Natti and this is the mission, should you choose to accept it: “Work on overcoming your fears/challenges and enjoy your mini victories along the way.”

See ya on the flip side! CN ❀

8 thoughts on “Irrational fears, quirks…OCD?

  1. It is that same “wet” mushy feeling that kept me away from yogurts and fruit sauces. I associated them with left over food in the sink. Not only that, but it/they felt like “stuff someone already ate”…gosh, I love yogurts now…lol

    But keep working Natti, keep working. Small steps. Small steps.

Leave a comment