Up We Go to Scrabo!


It was a cool Autumn afternoon and I was surprised with a spontaneous journey out of the city to take “a little trek”.

I was game, as I welcome the chance to leave the city behind every now and then and venture to wide, open spaces.

We were already out and about that day so there was no time to change to what might possibly be perceived as more trek-worthy attire but I was assured by my hubby that I was fine as I was.

After a twenty-five minute drive or so out of the city, we approached a town I knew well. I started looking around and spotted a tall tower in the distance which stood like a sentinel over-looking County Down and bits of Newtownards.

I asked my hubby what the tower was and he said it was Scrabo Tower and was actually our destination. We ascended the somewhat steep Scrabo Hill for a few minutes and I looked out at the still green fields littered with sheep and various shrubs.

We finally ascended as far as we were able to in the car so we parked. There was quite an expansive golf course nearby.

We walked the rest of the distance and I’d be less than honest if I didn’t admit to being a bit winded. J

The views of the town and countryside were worth it and so was the thought of getting to see the tower up close. I have an affinity for old architecture and historic edifices, so this was right up my alley…er hill!

Up We Go to Scrabo Tower

Up We Go to Scrabo Tower

 

We took a few pictures but were unable to enter the actual tower as it was closed on that day. I plan to return in the future when I have a better camera and when the tower is open.

View of Scrabo Tower

View of Scrabo Tower

Scrabo

 

[For a bit of background on Scrabo Tower: http://www.scrabotower.com

Scrabo Tower is located to the west of Newtownards in County Down, Northern Ireland.

The landmark, which is visible from most of north Down, was built on a volcanic plug above the town in 1857 as a memorial to Charles Stewart, 3rd Marquess of Londonderry who was one of the Duke of Wellington’s generals during the Napoleonic Wars.]

 

11 thoughts on “Up We Go to Scrabo!

  1. Can’t wait for your next visit. You have me excited to see the Tower from the inside (I share your love of old architecture)…. I wonder what stories are hidden behind those tower walls.

  2. Sweet. The tower views/photos remind me of the Tower Grove Water Tower (here in St. Louis). It has an interesting history and affords a beautiful view of the city if you are willing to climb the stairs to the top. Lol.

    Enjoy the moments.

Leave a comment